Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Europe has just 3 working languages: great!

Check here or here: the european council only works with 3 languages.

In particular:
Languages of the European Union (EU)

The EU has 23 official languages and three official alphabets (Latin, Greek and Cyrillic) for its 27 member states. There are three working languages in the European Commission: English,French and German. The 23 languages create 253 potential two-language combinations. As a result, the European Parliament employs over 4,000 translators and interpreters.

So, if you know one of these languages, you should relax and it should be enough to move around in Europe and understand documents, tv, newspapers, your bank account summaries, ect.

But it seems to me that there is so much to work to get there!!!

In the meanwhile, this site can help to translate, it does an excellent job:

And for a final laugh on this whole matter: http://jokes4all.net/jokes/english/jokes.html

No comments:

Post a Comment